Just an old walking song for a friend who passed away

The Road goes ever on and on
Down from the door where it began.
Now far ahead the Road has gone,
And I must follow, if I can,
Pursuing it with eager feet,
Until it joins some larger way
Where many paths and errands meet.
And wither then? I cannot say.
The Road goes ever on and on
Out from the door where it began.
Now far ahead the Road has gone,
Let others follow it who can!
Let them a journey new begin,
But I at last with weary feet
Will turn towards the lighted inn,
My evening-rest and sleep to meet.

Still round the corner there may wait
A new road or a secret gate;
And though I oft have passed them by,
A day will come at last when I
Shall take the hidden paths that run
West of the Moon, East of the Sun.

(J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of The Rings)

 

A mancarmi sono i “se”, le possibilità, ciò che avrebbe potuto essere ma non sarà mai. Mi manca pensare che non ti conoscevo abbastanza, ma che avrei avuto tempo per colmare questa lacuna. Mi manca fare progetti, parlare di concerti, di meeting, di cose che mai verranno. Mi manca aspettare tutte insieme, sul marciapiedi a Mestre, divorate dalle zanzare nella vana pretesa di dormire. Mi manca il futuro che non hai avuto. Mi manca il passato che è cambiato. E mi manca anche il diritto di dar voce a questi pensieri, ma io parlo lo stesso, sperando che tu mi senta. Ciao G., spero che si ascolti buona musica lassù.

Rispondi

